SOME STUFFS: The Muppets offer new movie and “The Green Album”

The first thing you may be thinking of upon hearing a title like The Green Album is, of course, The Beatles and their self-titled 1968 album. Because of its white cover, it became commonly known by fans as The White Album. Since then, there have been countless tributes and parodies of it, from Dennis Miller‘s The Off White Album to The Simpsons going for The Yellow Album. With Disney (who now owns Jim Henson‘s world of characters) coming out with a new Muppets movie, you now have the soundtrack in the form of The Green Album, consisting of modern artists covering various Muppets/Children’s Television/Sesame Workshop-related songs. Essentially, a Muppets tribute. The album was released this past Tuesday, here is the official track listing:
1. OK Go-The Muppet Show Theme
2. Weezer and Hayley Williams-The Rainbow Connection
3. The Wray-Mahna Mahna
4. Alkaline Trio-Movin’ Right Along
5. My Morning Jacket-Our World
6. Amy Lee-Halfway Down the Stairs
7. (Sondre Lerche-Mr. Bassman
8. he Airborne Toxic Event-Wishing Song
9. Brandon Saller and Billy Martin-Night Life
10. (Andrew Bird-Bein’ Green
11. Matt Nathanson-I Hope That Somethin’ Better Comes Along
12. Rachael Yamagata-I’m Going to Go Back There Someday

Oddly enough, I’m not sure if the Disney folks remember this, but they did release a Green Album before, this one being a Gumby tribute album. Nonetheless, here it is. The movie will be out in November. Bird – It’s Not Easy Being Green by Walt Disney Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s