SOME STUFFS: Catherine Irwin ready to unleash first solo album in ten years

Catherine Irwin has been a principal member of Freakwater for many years, but the last time she released a solo album was ten years ago. Fans have enjoyed her output but wanted to know when she would step out again. 2012 is the year that Irwin’s second album will be released, and she’s calling this one Little Heater. The music is said to be just as rustic and moving as anything she has done, and for this effort she has Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Marc Orleans helping her out, along with Tara Jane O’Neil who worked with Irwin as the album’s producer. This is the official track listing:
01. Mockingbird
02. Dusty Groove
03. Hoopskirt
04. Sinner Saves a Saint
05. We Must Also Love the Thieves
06. To Break Your Heart
07. Piss to Gin
08. Nightshade
09. Flowers of Darkness
10. Save Our Ship
11. Pale Horse/Pale Rider
12. The Whole of the Law
13. The Banks of the Ohio

Thrill Jockey Records will release Little Heater on September 18th.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s