This Is Book’s Music’s Best Albums Of 2015

Best Albums Of 2015 photo TIBMAlbums2015_pic_zpst0fbwalj.jpg
Years after I first started making lists of my favorite songs and albums, I still enjoy doing it. All it had taken was enjoying The Book Of Lists and it made me say “hey, I like making lists”, which is why I continue to do it year after year.

There are thousands of albums this year of a multitude of genres and I honestly wish I had the time to listen to most of them, especially genres I don’t follow closely. This list covers music on independents, self-released efforts, and a small handful of major labels. There isn’t much major label stuff I eagerly await anymore unless it’s an artist whose music I enjoy but I definitely do not hate something just because they’re on RCA, Columbia, Capitol, or Universal. As time goes on, I do wonder if I’ll do a list where it’s a 100% indie list but so far, not yet. There’s still good music coming from the majors, don’t deny the goodness from the self-proclaimed dictators.

Almost album listed have links to review except for two, including Kendrick Lamar’s album and why? I found myself listening to it a lot that by the time I felt ready to do a review, it had been a month or two since it’s release and it was already being called the best hip-hop album of the year by many. I decied to stay away from doing a review and let the music mature on its own as is, which at times had been rare for me. I like to do a review of something I like and not shy away from it but I don’t want to have to listen to everything and be “forced” in being critical. Just give me the music and allow me to listen. Then again, I guess I’ll always be critical but if you haven’t heard To Pimp a Butterfly yet, do so, as it is one of the strongest albums of 2015, of any genre.

I normally like to pick what I felt was the best album of the year, my ultimate solid choice but… it’s not really difficult to do but I just don’t want to come up with the “ultimate” pick anymore, I’m happy with coming up with a list, editing a few titles here and there and say “I’m done.” If forced to make a top 3, To Pimp a Butterfly would have to be there, along with Lightning Bolt’s Fantasy Empire, and Foreign Exchange’s Tales From The Land Of Milk And Honey, perhaps throwing in Tyler, The Creator’s Cherry Bomb and Faith No More’s Sol Invictus as runner-ups. By doing so, it seems I’m forgetting everything else and I don’t want this to be a popularity contest, despite me saying “this is the best of the year.” Is it the absolute “best 25”, no. There are still many albums released this year I haven’t had time to listen to and digest, but I like that. It gives me time to catch up and enjoy without the pressure of having to add it into a list. I will give you a brief list of albums that still awaits:
Lieutenant’s If I Kill This Thing We’re All Gonna Eat For A Week
The Necks’ Vertigo
Uncommon Nasa’s Halfway
Wordburglar’s Rapplicable Skills
Neil Young & Promise Of The Real’s The Monsanto Years

I feel comfortable with what I’ve listed and it managed to come up with a nice number: 25. If you want to know why I felt they were exceptional, click to each link and it will lead to one of my reviews. Go ahead and stream these albums or take a chance to buy it on vinyl if available, compact disc, cassette, or the MP3’s. If these albums and artists move you, by all means check them out if they are performing near you. Here they are, This Is Book’s Music’s Best Albums Of 2015.:


  • Action Bronson’s “Mr. Wonderful”
  • ANCST/AST’s split album
  • Jeremy Bass’s “New York In Spring”
  • Blindness’ “Wrapped In Plastic”
  • Blueprint’s “King No Crown”
  • Demonic Possessor’s “Porous Chambers” (no review)
  • Bvdub’s “A Step In The Dark”
  • Faith No More’s “Sol Invictus”
  • Foreign Exchange’s “Tales From The Land Of Milk And Honey”
  • Hidden In The Sun’s “Seven Seasons”
  • Kristofer Klarke’s self titled album
  • Kendrick Lamar’s “To Pimp a Butterfly” (no review)
  • Lightning Bolt’s “Fantasy Empire”
  • Limb’s “Terminal”
  • Marshmallow Coast’s “Vangelis Rides Again”
  • Meanza&De’s “OU”
  • Motherfucker’s “Confetti”
  • Nicolay’s “City Lights Vol. 3: Soweto”
  • No Spill Blood’s “Heavy Electricity”
  • Presents For Sally’s “Colours & Changes”
  • SPC ECO’s “Dark Matter”
  • Thee Koukouvaya’s “This Is The Mythology Of Modern Death”
  • THEESatisfaction’s “EarthEE”
  • Tyler, The Creator’s “Cherry Bomb”
  • Zs’ “Xe”
  • Leave a Reply

    