SOME STUFFS: Sonic Youth are indie again, new album finished

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

After many celebrated years with the Geffen/DGC ohana, Sonic Youth have been released from the John Black chains (Days Of Our Lives fans take note) and are once again completely independent. The group will be releasing their new album, The Eternal, on June 9th through Matador Records, to be available as a 2LP set, compact disc, and in digital (no word yet if lossless will be an option. Here is the confirmed track listing:

1. Sacred Trickster
2. Anti-Orgasm
3. Leaky Lifeboat(for Gregory Corso)
4. Antenna
5. What We Know
6. Calming The Snake
7. Poison Arrow
8. Malibu Gas Station
9. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10. No Way
11. Walkin’ Blue
12. Massage The History

The band and Matador will be offering “extras” when the album is available to pre-order.

On top of this, Sonic Youth and Beck are releasing a split 7″ on April 18th to honor this year’s Record Store Day.