SOME STUFFS: New Beastie Boys album scheduled for Spring 2011 release

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
When Adam Yauch was diagnosed with cancer last summer, the Beastie Boys decided to put their musical efforts on hold in support of their friend. The group were in the middle of recording album that was to be part 1 of two albums. The group have been back in the studio recording new music for what will become Hot Sauce Committee Part 2, which may or may not be a slightly resequenced version of Hot Sauce Committee Part 1. Nonetheless, the spirit and vibe of Part 1 seems to be in a locked position, and the group decided to reconfigure thigns and just release an album called Part 2 for the hell of it. There is now an official track listing:
1. Tadlock’s Glasses
2. B-Boys In The Cut
3. Make Some Noise
4. Nonstop Disco Powerpack
5. OK
6. Too Many Rappers (featuring NAS)
7. Say It
8. The Bill Harper Collection
9. Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (featuring Santigold)
10. Long Burn The Fire
11. Funky Donkey
12. Lee Majors Come Again
13. Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament
14. Pop Your Balloon
15. Crazy Ass Shit
16. Here’s A Little Something For Ya

As with anything Beastie, there are sure to be a few tracks leaked, perhaps songs that were recorded but left off the album, or eventual B-sides, bonus stuff, maybe Biz Markie will find some Bob James-style bells and rock it. Regardless of who shows up to the party, it’s nice to know that after almost 30 (!!!) years, the Beastie Boys are coming up with another album.

SOME STUFFS: Paul’s Boutique is remastered for special 20th anniversary edition

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The Beastie BoysPaul’s Boutique was released on July 25, 1989, and has become one of the most influential albums in hip-hop’s musical history. It made a huge impact on me and definitely helped shape and mold my ear for samples.

In honor of the 20th anniversary, the group have approved a brand new remaster and is now available on vinyl (with original 8-panel gatefold), compact disc, 320kbps MP3’s, and in lossless form. For maximum dedication, you can also purchase the “20th Anniversary Commemorative Package” which includes the LP, CD, MP3 files, T-shirt, poster, and a deluxe digital package that involves download the album digitally and getting some music videos along the way.

Click here for the scoop.

Head to the Beastie Boys site proper and you are able to see photos from 1988/1989, play a Three Minute Rule ping pong game, and upload your own memories about Paul’s Boutique.