SOME STUFFS: New additions to Moogfest 2012 lineup

This year’s Moogfest gets a bit more interesting with some brand new editions to the lineup, including a rapper who, to my knowledge, doesn’t play the Moog or any type of keyboard. However, he will be performing with a 9-piece Moog band. The “he” in question is…

Tim Hecker & Daniel Lopatin (b/k/a Oneohtrix Point Never)
Morton Subotnick presents From Silver Apples to a Sky of Cloudless Sulfur
Buke & Gase

This is in addition to everyone else who are scheduled to appear, announced earlier this month.

SOME STUFFS: Lineup announced for Moogfest 2012

The weekend of October 26th & 27th will be when keyboard and synth enthusiasts will want to program their schedules to be in Asheville, North Carolina for this year’s Moogfest. Tickets go on sale this Friday, August 10th, and what would make you want to pre-order your tickets then? A change to see and hear these people:

Miike Snow
Richie Hawtin
Four Tet
The GZA presents Liquid Swords
Carl Craig
Thomas Dolby
Black Moth Super Rainbow
Mouse on Mars
Prefuse 73 with Teebs
Ana Sia
Killer Mike

Many more will be there, and I’m sure a few more will be announced as things get closer to October. There will also be weekend passes, daily general admission tickets and VIP packages available, so a number of ways to check it out that is affordable for all. For more information, head to

VIDEO: Beastie Boys’ “Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win”

A new Beastie Boys video or a new Beastie Boys short film? 2-in-1? Like the Kool-Aid Man, you can say OH YEAH! It was directed by Spike Jonze, as you might be able to detect.

SOME STUFFS: New Beastie Boys album scheduled for Spring 2011 release

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
When Adam Yauch was diagnosed with cancer last summer, the Beastie Boys decided to put their musical efforts on hold in support of their friend. The group were in the middle of recording album that was to be part 1 of two albums. The group have been back in the studio recording new music for what will become Hot Sauce Committee Part 2, which may or may not be a slightly resequenced version of Hot Sauce Committee Part 1. Nonetheless, the spirit and vibe of Part 1 seems to be in a locked position, and the group decided to reconfigure thigns and just release an album called Part 2 for the hell of it. There is now an official track listing:
1. Tadlock’s Glasses
2. B-Boys In The Cut
3. Make Some Noise
4. Nonstop Disco Powerpack
5. OK
6. Too Many Rappers (featuring NAS)
7. Say It
8. The Bill Harper Collection
9. Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (featuring Santigold)
10. Long Burn The Fire
11. Funky Donkey
12. Lee Majors Come Again
13. Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament
14. Pop Your Balloon
15. Crazy Ass Shit
16. Here’s A Little Something For Ya

As with anything Beastie, there are sure to be a few tracks leaked, perhaps songs that were recorded but left off the album, or eventual B-sides, bonus stuff, maybe Biz Markie will find some Bob James-style bells and rock it. Regardless of who shows up to the party, it’s nice to know that after almost 30 (!!!) years, the Beastie Boys are coming up with another album.